David Wright has only played in approximately 70 games in the past two seasons due to spinal stenosis and a herniated disk. His return to start the 2017 season is questionable because he has not thrown since June 2016. Throwing will be the big and final step before getting back to his baseball routines. For now he will play DH in spring training to ease him back into the fast pace of baseball.

“For me, it’s about putting in the work necessary for today and this week, and hopefully everything falls into place,” Wright said Tuesday at Tradition Field. “[Opening Day] is obviously the goal, but there’s a few hurdles I have to clear.”

I hope Wright returns to the clutch and defensive wiz we know he was. However, there are so many hurdles in his way, it’s going to be a long process. I don’t think he will retire in the near future. He loves the game too much and he loves this organization and the fans. He wants to win a championship here and I believe that will happen in the near future and he will be a big part of it.

Below is the video I made:

