2017 Topps baseball cards

Baseball cards today are collectibles. Many adults and children collect their favorite players. Some even bring their cards to a baseball game in hopes that their favorite player will sign it.

Baseball cards were created in the late 1860s as a form of advertising for Tobacco companies. By the 1920’s, Tobacco companies stopped making baseball cards. A candy company called Goudey Gum began making colorful baseball cards that included Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig and Jimmie Foxx. Other Gum companies later joined in on the baseball cards as a form of advertising. From 1939 to 1941, Gum Inc, produced the “Play Ball” cards. These included stars of the era such as Ted Williams and Joe DiMaggio. In 1956 Topps bought Bowman Gum. Since then Topps has been dominating the baseball card business.

People used to out bid each other for baseball cards. In the 70s-80s, basedball cards were worth so much. If you had an all-stars rookie card you could sell it for $100 or more. Now, you’re lucky enough to sell a card for $40. In the era of social media, the attention span of people is very short and staring at a baseball card is a waste of time for some people. Times have changed from 20-30 years ago. 

Growing up I have collected several baseball cards such as Kenn Griffey Jr, Mike Piazza, Jose Reyes, Frank Thomas, Pedro Martinez and Sammy Sosa. My most prized baseball card would have to be Al Leiter’s 1988 rookie card. Not only is the card worth a lot of money in today’s era but it is worth a lot to me.


The 1988 Al Leiter rookie card was the FIRST baseball card that I ever collected. My dad had a collection of baseball cards and he gave me that one to start my very own collection. 

For a while I stopped collecting baseball cards until last year. Last year I bought the 2015 and 2016 New York Mets Topps baseball cards. I remember the excitement I got when I opened up the deck of cards.

 Collecting new baseball cards reminded me of my childhood. Collecting cards used to be so much fun as a kid. I would run to the store with my brother and on a shelf near the register would be a pack of baseball cards. We would buy them with the allowance that we had from doing chores. Those were the good old days. Writing this article really makes me wonder if kids still collect cards today.

